Traveling in the Ruffles

Someone posted this topic idea for LBC but it wasn’t chosen.  Of course, that didn’t stop me!

Mainly because I have done quite a bit of traveling in Lolita.  Not only by car, but by train and by plane!

Car traveling is the easiest.  Though the difficulty level in increased because of petticoats+wintercoats once it gets cold.  I wore this to one of my first meet-ups and it was pretty cold, but I couldn’t button up my coat successfully because of my fake nails!  So I to drive in the car, continually trying to keep it cold enough that I wouldn’t sweat, but warm enough that my toes and nose didn’t freeze off.  Thankfully, it warmed up by the time we left the art gallery so I didn’t have to worry about putting my coat back on!

004t9535

Traveling by train is pretty easy.  I mean, it’s like traveling by car except you just sit there with strangers also just sitting there.  I have taken the train into NYC several times in Lolita and I never went super out there, but it was a fine way to travel, except that it’s hard if you are trying to bring more than just a purse and still have your coordinate be put together XP but I never went for longer than a morning-to-midnight trip and this was about as Lolita as I got…

socks

Oh, traveling by plane!  That was such an adventure.  And it made a lot of people smiling.  Not only because I was dressed all cute in my Christmas-Lolita-best, but it was also Christmas Morning!  I was flying to Montreal to spend Christmas with my then-fiancé’s family.  So you can imagine that having to work airport security on Christmas Day can’t be that much fun, but I got the most compliments ever from strangers, I think because I bought the Christmas Spirit with me haha!  The only trouble was that the scanner could not read through my petticoat AT ALL!  And so I had to get a petticoat pat-down.  The woman who did it was so cute, it ended up being just a silly story to tell later.

IMG_5322n

Traveling in Lolita gives you a lot of stories to tell.  Especially if you were on a plane with grandmas.

Have you ever traveled in Lolita?  What’s the farthest you’ve gone and how did you get there (car, train, plane, etc.)?

One thought on “Traveling in the Ruffles

Leave a Reply

