Cat in the Petticoat

We had a Seussical Celebration at my day job and our bosses ask the employees to dress up! So, of course, I’m going to dress up. It was a short event so I was able to wear my heals the whole time no problem and even got to pull out my diamond cat ears!

I was Cat in the Hat inspired.

DSCN4123b

Skirt: Handmade
Blouse: Forever21
Vest: Wal-Mart (I know, this is a ridiculous secret of mine)
Jewelry & Leg Warmers: Kohl’s
Ears: Charlotte Russe
Socks: Gifted
Shoes: Target

DSCN4122

This skirt was made super fast, so I need to replace the zipper, fix a couple of things and possibly add some boning to the waist. I had left over fabric from my Christmas dress a few years ago that I cut for a skirt but never made the thing! Still, it’s great to see what you can do with plain fabric. As a handmade Lolita, I’m always struggling to find good patterned fabric, but it’s important to remember that simple fabric can be beautiful too.

This skirt is plain cotton sateen with a high waist, two tiers and a few tucks in the bottom tier. As I have mentioned before, there are a lot o great ideas like this is old GLB issues before patterns came into style.

That’s all for today!

Leave a Reply

